top of page

Dissection after dissecion

You wouldn't believe what we dissected! A perch, frog, and a snake. We had to cut the skin layer off the perch to reveal the organs inside. I identified all the organs, fins, and some bones we found. It was a really fun experience to see inside the fish. The classroom smelled really bad afterwards.

The frog dissection was online. We listened to an audio recording and used virtual utensils to cut the frog and pin the skin down. I learned about how the frogs legs work and even what their organs look like. I have never seen the insides of a frog before!

I would have to say the snake dissection was my favorite. It came in a clear bag with this liquid in it. We had to cut the bag and put the snake on a mat. Once the snake was on the mat we noticed that the snake's neck was all bent up. We made a cut from the cloaca to the throat. We pinned the skin to the mat and saw all the organs. We saw the large intestines, gall bladder, heart, and even their stomach.

I didn't know how much I enjoyed cutting reptiles open. I love seeing what they look like inside. Overall, this dissection experience was very interesting and fun.


bottom of page